Our day started all to early with a 6.45am alarm, which was ignored until about 7.15, the bed was just too comfy. Lizzie suggested that we strap the bed to the top of the car and I could drive while she slept, unsurprisingly, I wasn’t too keen on this idea. Once I had finally finished wrestling with the duvet that was determined to hold me hostage, I got into the shower and packed up my stuff. We managed to leave by 8.20, not bad considering. The reason for getting up at such an ungodly hour in the morning, especially following yesterday’s excessive wine consumption, was to drive the 7 hours north into Oregon to visit Crater Lake, which is both the deepest lake in the US, and the snowiest inhabited place. I slept through most of the first two and a half hours of the drive, so I can’t tell you much about that, other than that our soundtrack had reached High School Musical. The grey mist that we had woken up to had burned off and we spent a large portion of the day driving through stunning scenery in glorious sunshine. After brief stops for petrol and bathroom breaks, we eventually reached Crater Lake just after three, and were amazed at the amount of snow on the ground. The road we drove along to get there had been plowed, and huge walls of snow rose on either side of the car, obliterating entire roads that they clearly just give up on in the snowy months.

Just to give you an idea of how deep the snow was...

Our first stop was the visitor centre, which was mostly buried in snow, before heading towards the rim of the lake. Unfortunately the Rim Drive was closed due to snow (will open in July) so our only option was to go to the RimVillage. Parking the car, we decided to go admire the lake and take photos first, since there were some grey clouds looming on the horizon. Parking the car next to a towering wall of snow, we walked the length of the car park and climbed up the snowy ridge. I was so glad I had changed into my walking boots; I just wish my snow boots had been more accessible!

Crater Lake

The view when we got to the top of the small hill was breathtaking; a massive crater, ringed with snow covered mountains, with intensely blue water reflecting the sky above it. Our cameras just did not do it justice. We walked for a short way along the ridge in the snow, sinking up to our knees in places which meant that my boots were soon full of snow.

and again

Stopping frequently for photos, it did not take long before the silly photos started. Cartwheels were deemed too dangerous in the unstable snow, but leaps and weird poses worked just fine. I also took a wonderful series of pictures of Lizzie falling over and struggling to get up again; I thought she was performing, then felt a little guilty when I discovered that I had been taking pictures of her actually falling over! Oops.

...and again

Vowing to come back out afterwards, we headed into the gift shop and café for hot chocolate. The hot chocolate was delicious, but the gift shop was disappointing – even the postcards weren’t very good. Coming away with just one $0.75 postcard, we headed back towards the rim for more photos. Unfortunately, as predicted, the grey clouds I mentioned earlier had arrived and the lake looked a good deal less appealing. Nevertheless, we posed for some final pictures before heading back to the car. In order to get to our motel for the night we had to drive 60 miles back in the direction we had come from, since everything closer was considerably out of our price range. Arriving at the motel, we popped to the supermarket to buy dinner, then spent a quiet evening blogging (will we ever get caught up?!) and watching TV.

